MINUTES OF SPECIAL BOARD MEETING 5-11-2021 #1034 BOARD OF EDUCATION –

CALL TO ORDER/MEETING PLACE

The Board of Education President, Mr. Allen Rosen, called the Special meeting to order at 4:59 pm at Oak Park High School, Great Lawn. On March 17, 2020, Gov. Newsom issued Executive Order N-29-20 that, in part, authorized governing boards to hold public meetings via teleconference. Governing boards must still provide advance notice of each public meeting in accordance with the Brown Act and make public meetings accessible telephonically or otherwise electronically to all members of the public seeking to address the governing board.

Based on these guidelines, the OPUSD Board of Education held a video conference/teleconference special meeting on May 11th with members of the Board and Staff attending in person. Members of the public were able to submit public comments via an online form before the board meeting as well as via email during the meeting as outlined in the Agenda. The meeting was livestreamed via a published link.

BOARD PRESENT

Mr. Allen Rosen, President, Mr. Drew Hazelton, Vice President, Mr. Derek Ross, Clerk, Mrs. Tina Wang, Member, and Mrs. Denise Helfstein, Member (joined the meeting at 5:40 pm)

BOARD ABSENT

Charlotte Robertson, Student Board Member

STAFF PRESENT

Dr. Tony Knight, Superintendent, Dr. Jeff Davis, Incoming Superintendent, Mr. Adam Rauch, Assistant Superintendent, Business Services, Mr. Stew McGugan, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources, Dr. Jay Greenlinger, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Mr. Brendan Callahan, Director of Bond Programs, Sustainability, Maintenance and Operations, Mr. Enoch Kwok, Director Technology, Mrs. Susan Roberts, Director of Pupil Services, Mrs. Sara Ahl, Director of Extended Care Programs, Mr. Brad Benioff, Principal Medea Creek Middle School, Mr. Kent Cromwell, Principal Oak Park Independent School and Oak View High School, Mr. Jason Meskis, Assistant Principal Oak Park High School, Mrs. Erin Vranesh, Principal Brookside Elementary School, Mrs. Stacy LaFrenz, Principal Red Oak Elementary School, Mr. Erik Warren Principal Oak Hills Elementary School, and Mrs. Ragini Aggarwal, Executive Assistant and Communications Coordinator.

FLAG SALUTE

Allen Rosen led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag

PUBLIC COMMENTS

None

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

On motion of Drew Hazelton, seconded by Tina Wang, the Board of Education adopted the agenda as presented. Motion carried Aye: Hazelton, Rosen, Ross, Wang. No - 0. Absent – Helfstein

OPEN SESSION

A. OPEN COMMUNICATIONS/PRESENTATIONS

1. Presentation of the Marie Panec Educating Compassionate and Creative Global Citizens Award to students from Medea Creek Middle School, Oak Park High School, Oak View High School and Oak Park Independent School

At 5:30 pm the Marie Panec Awards Ceremony ended, and the Board took a recess Board Member Mrs. Denise Helfstein joined the meeting at 5:40 pm. The Board reconvened for the retirement recognition at 6:00 pm

2. Presentation of Retirement Recognition to Linda Friedricks, Regina Pahn, Patti Holland, Nina Johnson, Sharon Merfeld, Lynn Paniz, Jon Duim, Randi Liepman, Julie Ross, Sharon Stutz, Sherry Hung, Debbie Cooper, and Dr. Tony Knight.

On motion of Allen Rosen, seconded by Drew Hazelton, there being no further business before this Board, the special meeting held on May 11, 2021 is declared adjourned at 7:57 p.m.

Date	President of the Board
Date	Clerk or Secretary of the Board